2008 National Hill Climb Championship

The 2008 National Hill climb Championship took place on Bank Road, Matlock.

  • Distance: 830m
  • Average gradient of 14%.
  • Maximum Gradient of 20%.
  • Weather was good for late October. Sunny and dry. There was a full field of 150 riders.

I am reposting here from my old blog. I couldn’t find any results on t’internet apart from top 20 I had on that former blog.

My blog from 2008 was very short. I think I only did a couple of races in 2008. The course was the same as 2016 National Championships.


The winner was Matt Clinton  mikevaughan.co.uk – 2008 in a winning time of 2.24.2. He just edged out Bill Bell (2.25) and five times champion Jim Henderson. The women’s champion was Lyn Hamel (Greenroomgroup.com) 2.59

matt clinton

Blog from 2008

I finished 14th in a time of 2.42.3. I was quite pleased with my time for a hill which wasn’t ideal to my liking. It was very close at the top, with just 2 seconds separating the top 3 – Bill Bell, Jim Henderson and Matt Clinton. The first women was Lynn Hamel, 2.59


There was a good crowd at the steepest part. At this point I was already a bit dizzy in the head. My arms were drained of blood like pins and needle. After the steep corner, there was another 200m of relatively shallow climb. Although it was shallow, it was hard to go much faster.

steward house

Stewart House (10) at the start. The event was well organised by Matlock CC and other local clubs. It’s great to race on closed roads.

I enjoyed the race a lot. I really felt I had raced at my limit. I will have to try and find an extra 18 seconds for next year.

National Hill Climb 2008

1Matt ClintonMikeVaughan.co.uk02:24.2
2Bill BellGemini BC02:25.4
3Jim HendersonSouthport CC02:26.5
4Dave GriffithsParamount RT02:29.6
5Lewis CowleyPlan B RT02:30.2
6David Clarkelacuna02:31.0
7Charles TaylorSouth Pennine RC02:31.4
8Adam PinderBlackburn & District CTC1802:34.6
9Adrian RodgersWorthing Excelsior CC02:35.2
10Darren AtkinsCoventry RC02:39.5
11Daniel ArblasterGuernsey Velo Club1702:40.4
12Ian StottBlackburn & District CTC02:41.0
13James McLaughlinGuernsey Velo Club1802:42.1
14Tejvan PettingerSri Chinmoy Cycling Team02:42.3
15Adrian LawrenceLancashire RC02:43.5
16Chris MetcalfMatlock CC02:43.5
17Robert GoughJohn’s Bike RT02:43.7
18James WardCambridge CC02:44.8
19Robin CoomberJohns Bike’s RT02:44.8
20Chris EdmondsonBlackburn & District CTC02:45.0


The results were published at CTT but are now a dead link and I couldn’t recover them from the internet archive. If anyone has full results, I would be interested in posting them as I can’t find them on the internet anywhere.


1.Lyn HamelThe Greenroomgroup.com2.59
2.Claire ThomasEdinburgh RC3.25
3.Marianne BrittenVC St. Raphael3.37

UK National hill climb championship

Leave a Comment